Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Senate Democrats Elect 2017-18 Leadership

Senate Democrats met Tuesday afternoon to elect their leadership for the 2017-18 legislative session.  

Senate Minority Leader: Senator Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse). This is Shilling’s second session as Senate Minority Leader. Former Senator Dan Kapanke announced Tuesday that he will seek a recount in his race against Shilling, which she led by only 56 votes after the official canvas.  

Senate Assistant Minority Leader: Senator Janet Bewley (D-Ashland).  Bewley replaces current Assistant Minority Leader Dave Hansen (D-Green Bay) who did not seek re-election to the post.

Senate Minority Caucus Chair: Senator Mark Miller (D-Monona). He replaces Senator Julie Lassa (D-Stevens Point) who will not be returning to the Legislature in 2017. 

Senate Minority Caucus Vice-Chair:  Senator Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville). She replaces current Caucus Vice-Chair Kathleen Vinehout (D-Alma) who did not seek re-election to the post.

All Caucuses have now chosen their leadership for the 2017-18 session.  Announcements will be made in the coming weeks regarding committee assignments in the Assembly and Senate.  Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) already re-appointed all Senate Republican members of the Joint Finance Committee.  Assembly Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) announced that Representative John Nygren (R-Marinette) will remain Assembly Co-Chair of the Joint Finance Committee, but did not make any announcements regarding the five remaining Assembly Republican seats on the Committee. No word yet on who the four Democratic Joint Finance Committee members will be. 

Senate Majority Leader:  Senator Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau)

Senate Assistant Majority Leader: Senator Leah Vukmir (R-Wauwatosa)

Senate President: Senator Roger Roth (R-Appleton)

Senate President Pro Tempore: Senator Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green)

Senate Majority Caucus Chair: Senator Sheila Harsdorf (R-River Falls)

Senate Majority Caucus Vice-Chair: Senator Van Wanggaard (R-Racine)

Assembly Speaker: Representative Robin Vos (R-Rochester)

Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore: Representative Tyler August (R-Lake Geneva)

Assembly Majority Leader:   Representative Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna)

Assembly Assistant Majority Leader:  Representative Rob Brooks (R- Saukville)

Assembly Majority Caucus Chair:  Representative Dan Knodl (R-Germantown)

Assembly Majority Vice-Caucus Chair: Representative Romaine Quinn (R-Rice Lake)

Assembly Majority Caucus Sargent at Arms: Representative Samantha Kerkman (R-Salem)

Assembly Majority Caucus Secretary: Representative Jessie Rodriguez (R-Oak Creek)

Assembly Minority Leader: Representative Peter Barca (D-Kenosha).

Assembly Assistant Minority Leader: Representative Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton)

Assembly Minority Caucus Chair: Representative Mark Spreitzer (D-Beloit)

Assembly Minority Caucus Vice-Chair:  Representative Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska)

Assembly Minority Caucus Secretary:  Representative Beth Meyers (D-Bayfield)

Assembly Minority Caucus Sargent at Arms: Representative Christine Sinicki (D-Milwaukee)

No comments:

Post a Comment

These comments are moderated and will appear once approved.