Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Assembly Democrats Elect 2017-18 Leadership; John Nygren Re-Appointed to JFC

Assembly Democrats met Tuesday to select their leadership positions for the 2017-18 legislative session.  

 Assembly Minority Leader: Representative Peter Barca (D-Kenosha). This is Barca’s fourth consecutive session as Minority Leader.

Assembly Assistant Minority Leader: Representative Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton). Hesselbein replaces current Minority Leader Katrina Shankland (D-Stevens Point) who did not seek re-election to the position.

Assembly Minority Caucus Chair: Representative Mark Spreitzer (D-Beloit). Spreitzer replaces current Minority Caucus Chair Andy Jorgensen (D-Milton) who is not returning to the Legislature in 2017.

Assembly Minority Caucus Vice-Chair:  Representative Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska). Doyle replaces current Minority Caucus Vice-Chair JoCasta Zamarripa (D-Milwaukee) who did not seek re-election to the position.

Assembly Minority Caucus Secretary:  Representative Beth Meyers (D-Bayfield). This is her second consecutive session in this role.

Assembly Minority Caucus Sargent at Arms: Representative Christine Sinicki (D-Milwaukee). Sinicki replaces current Minority Caucus Sargent at Arms Josh Zepnick (D-Milwaukee) who did not seek re-election to the position.

In other news, Assembly Speaker Robin Vos re-appointed Representative John Nygren (R-Marinette) as Joint Finance Committee Co-Chair.  Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) re-appointed all Senate Republican members of the Joint Finance Committee last week.

Rep. Nygren. To serve third term as Joint Finance Co-Chair.

Speaker Vos. Announces JFC Assembly Chair

No comments:

Post a Comment

These comments are moderated and will appear once approved.