Thursday, June 14, 2018

Legislative Study Committee Created on BCPL, Common School Fund

A Legislative Council Study Committee has been created on the Investment and Use of the School Trust Funds. 

Study Committees meet during the legislative interim (June-December) to examine pressing public policy issues and recommend solutions. They include members of the Legislature and members of the public. The Committee will be chaired by Representative Terry Katsma (R – Oostburg) and Senator Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee) and include Senator Duey Stroebel (R-Saukville) and Representative Don Vruwink (D-Milton). Public members include Kim Bannigan, a past WEMTA president,  and several local government officials. 

The Study Committee is directed to review the statutes governing the investment of the trust funds administered by the Board of Commissioners of Public Lands (BCPL), including the loan programs administered by BCPL. The committee shall assess whether current statutes adequately ensure the effective investment and appropriate use of the proceeds of the funds, and recommend legislation for necessary changes.

WEMTA will keep you updated on the work of this Committee. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

These comments are moderated and will appear once approved.