Thursday, April 26, 2018

BCPL Commissioners Are Up for Re-Election--Secretary of State Candidates

All of the Board of Commissioners of Public Lands (BCPL) Commissioners--the Attorney General, State Treasurer and the Secretary of State-- are up for election in November 2018. BCPL Commissioners oversee the Common School Fund, so these races are very important and will have an impact on school library funding. 

State Treasurer Matt Adamczyk is not seeking re-election and is instead running for an Assembly seat, so the race for state treasurer is wide open and has a crowded field of candidates. Both Attorney General Brad Schimel and Secretary of State Doug La Follette are running for re-election and face challengers. 

Candidates are currently circulating nomination papers to get on the ballot. Nomination papers are due by June 1. If a primary is required for any of the races, it will be held August 14. The General Election will be held on November 6. 

We will be featuring the different races over the next week. Today we're taking a look at Secretary of State. 

Secretary of State Candidates (Updated April 30,2018)

Doug La Follette (Incumbent, D-Madison)

Doug La Follette has been Secretary of State, and a BCPL Commissioner, since 1983. If re-elected, this will be his 11th term. 

Campaign Website:



Arvina Martin (D-Madison)

Martin is currently a Madison alder. She does not appear to have a formal campaign website at this time. 

Campaign Website: N/A


Jay Schroeder (R-Neenah)

In a press release announcing his campaign, Mr. Schroeder said he hopes to abolish the Office of Secretary of State. He is a licensed mortgage loan officer. 

Campaign Website: 



No comments:

Post a Comment

These comments are moderated and will appear once approved.