Friday, January 31, 2014

WEMTA Alert: Public Hearing Set for BCPL Amendment

Representative Michael Schraa (R-Oshkosh) introduced a new constitutional amendment, AJR 85, this afternoon, which would delete the office of the Secretary of State from the state constitution. As a result, the amendment would replace the Secretary of State with the State Superintendent of Public Instruction on the Board of Commissioners of Public Lands.

An informational hearing has also been scheduled on AJR 48, Schraa’s other constitutional amendment, for Wednesday, February 5; testimony will only be allowed by invited speakers.  AJR 48, would have deleted both the office of the Secretary of State and office of the State Treasurer, but due to constitutional concerns raised by members of the legislature and legislative council, Schraa decided to separate the two proposals.  Schraa has introduced a substitute amendment to AJR 48 so that the resolution would only delete the office of the State Treasurer and add the lieutenant governor to the Board of Commissioners of Public Lands.

The introduction of AJR 85 creates an interesting legislative situation. Since AJR 48 previously received a public hearing in October, the Assembly Committee on State Affairs and Government Operations can pass the amended version of the bill, which will only apply to the State Treasurer, at any time. It is unclear why a second hearing is being held on AJR 48 on February 5.  AJR 85, which is a new proposal, must also receive a public hearing before it can advance through the legislature, but no hearing is scheduled on AJR 85 at this time.

To be enacted, a constitutional amendment must be passed by both houses of the legislature in two consecutive sessions and then win the approval of voters in a statewide referendum.

Full Committee notice by the Assembly Committee on State Affairs and Government Operations:

Wednesday, February 5, 2014
10:01 AM
225 Northwest

The informational hearing will begin upon the conclusion of the public hearing.

Assembly Joint Resolution 48

Relating to: deleting from the constitution the offices of secretary of state and state treasurer (first consideration).
By Representatives Schraa, August, Knodl, Jacque, J. Ott, Craig, Nygren, Petersen, Murphy, Kerkman, Tittl, Knudson, Born, Honadel, LeMahieu, Bies, Kuglitsch, Marklein, Kestell, Sanfelippo, Stroebel, Nass and Endsley; cosponsored by Senators Gudex, Leibham and Vukmir.

Testimony will be limited to invited speakers only.

No comments:

Post a Comment

These comments are moderated and will appear once approved.